google_counter

Urinary and fecal incontinence - neurostimulation therapy

Conservative treatment is not always effective for the dysfunction of pelvic organs. In such cases, in addition to the relevant symptoms, namely urinary and fecal incontinence, patients experience severe psychological disorders. If the patient does not receive treatment, both their lifestyle and lifestyle of their loved ones will significantly change and not for the better. In Germany, the number of such patients is now becoming less and less, as there is actively applied the technique of neuromodulation, which uses an implanted neurostimulator to affect nerve fibers.

The practice of using this technique in the rehabilitation centers testifies to its high efficiency - on average more than 70% of patients manage to completely eliminate the symptoms of pathology.

Indications

  • Urinary and fecal incontinence in myelodysplasia of the lumbosacral articulation.
  • Lower limb paralysis of different etiology.
  • Mechanical damage to sphincters.
  • Incontinence after childbirth and incontinence of another etiology.

Preliminary diagnosis and testing

There is a number of nerve fibers passing through the pelvic area. Therefore, the task of the attending physician is to find the nerve responsible for the work of the muscles of the bladder or bowel. To this end, doctor usually uses an external stimulator to conduct test stimulation, which allows to determine the effectiveness of the technique and to individually establish if the therapy suits the patient.

As part of this examination, the doctor will insert a thin wire, the so-called electrode, into the sacrum and connect it to the external stimulator - a small device that will be attached to the patient's belt. During this period, the patient is faced with an important task, since while determining the effectiveness of sacral neurostimulation the physician will rely on the patient’s observations.

Therefore, the patient makes daily entries in the diary, where they describe their symptoms, functional activity of the bladder or intestine and how it has changed under the influence of stimulation. At the end of the process, doctor will evaluate the records and conclude if the method is effective for this particular patient or not. If within a few weeks of the test there is a significant improvement in symptoms, the patient will be recommended to implant the electrostimulator for a long time. During the surgery that lasts about an hour, a small sensor connected with stimulating electrode will be implanted.

Neurostimulator implantation

With the help of weak electrical impulses, the device stimulates the sacral nerve in the sacral spine. The electrostimulator is implanted under the skin of the buttocks and connected with the sacral nerve of the urinary or intestinal canal by an electrode. A person having such a device has the ability to control it through the remote control adjusting the intensity of the nervous stimulation or turning it off completely to empty either bowel or bladder. According to the Medical Tribune, the impact on the sacral nerves also positively affects the activities of both intestine and bladder in people with lower limb paralysis. It is necessary to undergo a 4-week test phase before the stimulator implantation. In the course of this test, the device located on the surface of the patient's body. If the symptoms are alleviated at least by half, it makes sense to implant the device.

Surgery

The surgery is performed under general anesthesia. It is important to pay attention to the fact that the patient should not take drugs that reduce muscle activity, so that the surgeon can make sure that the muscle is contracting when the stimulus is exposed to it through the probe. With fluoroscopy, doctor can feel the third nerve hole of the sacrum, through which the nerves responsible for the sphincter apparatus of the bladder and intestine pass. The probe is installed at these nerve endings and connected to an electrostimulator that is implanted under the skin of the buttocks. Unlike the test device, the final electrostimulator has a special fixation that does not allow it to move under the skin.

Electrical stimulation does not cause nerve damage. The strength of electrical impulses is not dangerous to the patient, besides doctor regularly monitors if neuromodulation therapy is successful.

A battery life depends on the individual adjustment of the stimulator. The more often and intensively the device is used, the faster the battery life is reduced. On average, the device can work for six years without changing the battery. However, if one should replace it, the process does not present any difficulties: it is enough to make one incision in the skin under local anesthesia.

Efficiency

Stimulation helps people with lower limb paralysis or women with incontinence due to complicated births that caused a sphincter rupture. If such cases occurred before, there was the only decision, namely surgical reconstruction of the sphincter apparatus. Thanks to the test stimulation, it became possible to control whether sacral nervous stimulation is sufficient to restore the functions of the sphincter. In any case, it can be used for a long period of time. The practice of performing the procedure shows the following statistics: the therapy is fully successful in 60% of cases of urinary incontinence and in 80% of cases of fecal incontinence. In those cases when doctors cannot manage to completely eliminate the symptoms, there are still significant improvements that could not be achieved by other methods.

To receive consult on the treatment of incontinence by neuromodulation in Germany
Please call us: +49 228 972 723 35 or fill in the
request form.

Do you need help?

Do you need help?

Are you in need of effective rehabilitation? We will help you find the best clinic specializing in your condition. Fill in the form and our specialist will contact you!

Thank you

We received you request for treatment in the best European clinics. Our manager will contact you in the course of the next 24 hours.

Недержание мочи и кала – лечение с помощью нейростимулятора

Дисфункция органов таза далеко не всегда поддается консервативному лечению, в таких случаях пациенты помимо соответствующих симптомов – недержания мочи и кала, испытывают серьезные психологические расстройства. Отсутствие терапии существенно меняет образ жизни человека, а также его близких в худшую сторону. В Германии таких пациентов теперь становится все меньше, поскольку активно применяется методика нейромодуляции – воздействие на нервные волокна с помощью имплантированного нейростимулятора.

Практика метода в реабилитационных центрах свидетельствует о его высокой эффективности – в среднем более 70% пациентам удается полностью устранить симптомы патологии.

Показания

  • Недержание мочи и кала при миелодисплазии пояснично-кресцового сочленения.
  • Паралич нижних конечностей различной этиологии.
  • Механических повреждений сфинктеров.
  • Инконтиненция после родов и другой этиологии.

Предварительная диагностика и тестирование

В области таза проходит целый ряд нервных волокон. Поэтому задача лечащего врача заключается в том, чтобы найти нерв, отвечающий за работу мышц мочевого пузыря или кишечника. Для этого обычно проводится тестовая стимуляция с помощъю наружного стимулятора, которая позволяет определить эффективность методики и установить в индивидуальном порядке, подходит ли терапия данному пациенту.

В рамках такого обследования врач вводит пациенту тонкий провод, так называемый электрод, в область крестца и подключает его к наружному стимулятору – маленькому прибору, который закрепляется на поясе пациента. Во время этого периода перед пациентом ставится важная задача, т. к. при определении эффективности сакральной нейростимуляции врач полагается на наблюдения пациента.

Поэтому пациент делает ежедневно записи в дневнике, где описывает свои симптомы, функциональную деятельность мочевого пузыря или кишечника и то, как она изменилась под воздействием стимуляции. В конце врач оценивает эти записи и делает выводы об эффективности данного метода у конкретного пациента. Если в течение нескольких недель тестового периода наступает значительное улучшение симптоматики, то в этом случае рекомендована имплантация электростимулятора на длительное время. Во время операции, длящейся около часа, пациенту вживляется небольшой датчик, который соединяется со стимулирующим электродом.

Имплантация нейростимулятора

С помощью слабых электрических импульсов прибор стимулирует сакральный нерв в крестцовом отделе позвоночника. Электростимулятор имплантируется под кожу ягодиц и соединяется при помощи электрода с сакральным нервом мочевого или кишечного канала. Носитель такого прибора имеет возможность управлять им через пульт, регулируя при этом интенсивность нервной стимуляции или же отключая её полностью с целью опорожнения кишечника или мочевого пузыря. По мнению «Medical Tribune» воздействие на сакральные нервы также положительно влияет на деятельность кишечника и мочевого пузыря у людей с параличом нижних конечностей. Перед вживлением стимулятора необходимо прохождение 4-ёхнедельной тестовой фазы. Во время неё прибор находится на теле пациента. При уменьшении симптомов недержания хотя бы в половину прибор имеет смысл имплантировать.

Операция

Оперативное вмешательство проводится под общим наркозом. Важно обратить внимание на то, чтобы пациент не принимал препаратов, снижающих мышечную активность, для того чтобы оперирующий врач смог удостоверится в том, сокращается ли мышца в момент воздействия на неё раздражителя через зонд. При помощи рентгеноскопии нащупывается третье нервное отверстие крестца, через которое проходят нервы, отвечающие за сфинктерный аппарат мочевого пузыря и кишечника. Зонд устанавливается у этих нервных окончаний и соединяется с электростимулятором, который вживляется под кожу ягодиц. В отличие от тестового прибора окончательный электростимулятор располагает специальным креплением, не позволяющим ему перемещаться под кожей.

Электрическая стимуляция не вызывает повреждения нервов. Сила электрических импульсов не опасна для пациента, кроме того врач регулярно контролирует успешное проведение нейромодуляционной терапии.

Срок службы батарейки зависит от индивидуальной настройки электростимулятора. Чем чаще и интенсивнее используется прибор, тем быстрее сокращается продолжительность работы батарейки. В среднем прибор работает в течение шести лет без смены батарейки. Но и её замена не представлает никаких трудностей: достаточно сделать один надрез в коже под местной анестезией.

Эффективность

Стимуляция помогает людям при параличе нижних конечностей или же женщинам, страдающим недержанием вследствие сложных родов с разрывом сфинктера. Ранне в таких случаях предлагалась лишь одно возможное решение, как оперативная реконструкция сфинктерного аппарата. Благодаря тестовой стимуляции стало возможным контролировать, достаточна ли сакральная нервная стимуляция для восстановления функций сфинктера. В любом случае её можно использовать на протяжении длительного периода времени. Практика проведения процедуры имеет следующую статистику: при недержании мочи терапия полностью успешна в 60% случаев, при недержании кала – в 80%. В тех случаях, когда полностью устранить симптомы не удается, все равно наблюдаются значительные улучшения, которые было бы невозможно достигнуть иными методами.

По вопросам лечения недержания методом нейромодуляции в Германии
обращайтесь по телефону: +49 (228) 972 723 17 или заполните
форму запроса.