google_counter

Glioblastoma

German clinics are the only hope for a recovery for the patients with glioblastoma. The patients rejected by the leading neuro centers of the capital seek medical help from our center. Only in 2010, our clinic provided a successful treatment to 128 patients from CIS countries (most of them were Russians).

Etiology

Glioblastoma multiforme (GBM) , also called grade IV astrocytoma is a highly malignant brain tumor. In most cases, this tumor affects men between the ages of 40 and 60 years. It develops from the glial cells of the CNS, which perform both support and differentiation functions for neurons. It is one of the most aggressive neoplasms and, at the same time, the most common one (about 1/5 of all primary intracerebral tumors).

The cause of this tumor has not yet been identified. The theories on harmful effects of the electromagnetic field in the form of mobile communication have not been scientifically confirmed. GBM risk factors include:

  • Age. The tumor commonly develops between the ages of 40 and 60 years.
  • Sex. It is more common in men.
  • Pilocystic and fibrillary astrocytomas (grade I and II). About 10% of gliosarcomas develop from astrocytic tumors with a low degree of malignancy.
  • Diseases that cause genetic disorders. For example, neurofibromatosis.
  • External factors. Effect of ionized radiation and chemicals. (polyvinyl chloride).

Symptoms

The symptoms of glioblastoma are different and depend on the tumor location. The most common symptom is headache, which is associated with increased intracranial pressure. Other manifestations of hypertension include epileptic seizures and dizziness. In addition, patients complain of visual impairment, drowsiness, numbness in the limbs. Glioblastoma can often become large before the first symptoms start manifesting.

Other characteristic symptoms include gradual memory disorder, behavioral and personality changes caused by the damage to the frontal and temporal lobes of the brain.

Diagnosis

The tumor can take a different shape. In most cases, its structure is not uniform in the image. The following methods can be used to produce the image:

  • Contrast-enhanced MRI of the brain is the most informative method of diagnosing glioblastoma.
  • The differential diagnosis of glioblastoma from other types of tumors involves the use of SPECT (single photon emission computed tomography) and PET.

Since glioblastoma has a non-uniform structure, a single test can show a low degree of malignancy, which does not correspond to the actual aggressiveness of the tumor. Therefore, stereotactic biopsy with the subsequent pathoanatomical analysis is the most reliable method for confirming the diagnosis.

Treatment

The treatment of GBM is complex not only due to a high aggressiveness of the tumor, but also due to a number of its features, including tumor resistance to standard chemotherapy and radiotherapy, deep ingrowth of the neoplasm that complicates its surgical resection. Most Russian hospitals can not go beyond standard therapy, so the patient will either be turned down, or the therapy will be extremely ineffective.

In cooperation with neurosurgical, radiological and other clinics, we provide patients with the full range of modern methods of neurosurgery, radiation therapy, chemotherapy, as well as innovative types of targeted therapy and immunotherapy. The treatment of the tumor is followed by rehabilitation. Learn more about the features of glioblastoma treatment .

To receive consult on the treatment of glioblastoma multiforme in Germany
Please call: +49 228 972 723 35 or fill in the
request form.

Do you need help?

Do you need help?

Are you in need of effective rehabilitation? We will help you find the best clinic specializing in your condition. Fill in the form and our specialist will contact you!

Thank you

We received you request for treatment in the best European clinics. Our manager will contact you in the course of the next 24 hours.

Глиобластома головного мозга

Немецкие клиники являются для пациентов с глиобластомой единственной надеждой на излечение. В наш центр часто обращаются пациенты, получившие отказ в ведущих нейроцентрах столицы. Только в 2010 году в нашей клинике прошли успешное лечение 128 пациентов из стран СНГ, большую часть из них составили россияне.

Этиология

Мультиформная глиобластома или астроцитома IV степени– является высоко злокачественной опухолью головного мозга. В большинстве случаев данная опухоль встречается у мужчин в возрасте между 40 и 60 годами. Возникает из глиальных клеток ЦНС, выполняющих опорную и разграничительную функции для нейронов. Является одним из наиболее агрессивных новообразований и, одновременно, самым распространенным – порядка 1/5 все первичных интрацеребральных опухолей.

Причина возникновения данной опухоли не известна. Теории о вредном воздействии электромагнитного поля в виде мобильной связи не получили научное подтверждение. К факторам риска МГ относят:

  • Возраст. Большинство случаев приходятся на 40-60 лет.
  • Пол. Чаще возникает у мужчин.
  • Пилоцитарная и фибриллярная астроцитомы (I и II степени). Приблизительно 10% глиосарком развиваются из астроцитарных опухолей низкой степени злокачественности.
  • Заболевания, вызывающие генетические нарушения. Например, нейрофиброматоз.
  • Внешние факторы. Воздействие ионизированного излучения и химикатов (поливинил-хлорид).

Симптомы

Симптомы возникновения глиобластомы различны и зависят от локализации опухоли. Наиболее частым симптомом является головная боль, что связано с повышением внутричерепного давления. К другим проявлениям гипертензии относят эпилептические припадки, головокружение. Кроме того пациенты жалуются на нарушение зрения, сонливость, онемение в конечностях. Зачастую глиобластома может достичь больших объёмов до того, как появятся первые симптомы.

Другими характерными симптомами являются постепенное расстройство памяти, изменения в поведении и характере, которые являются следствием поражения лобной и височной долей головного мозга.

Диагностика

Опухоль может принимать различную форму, в большинстве случаев на изображении ее структура неоднородна. При построении изображения используются следующие методы:

  • МРТ головного мозга с контрасным веществом является наиболее информативным методом в диагностике глиобластомы.
  • SPEKT (single photon emission computed tomography) и PET обследование используется в дифференциальной диагностике глиобластомы от других видов опухолей.

Поскольку глиобластома имеет неоднородную структуру, единичная проба может показать низкую степень злокачественности, которая не соответствует действительной агрессивности опухоли, поэтому самым надёжным методом подтверждения диагноза является стереотаксическая биопсия с последующим паталогоанатомическим анализом.

Лечение

Лечение МГ осложнено не только высокой агрессивностью опухоли, но и рядом ее особенностей, среди которых стойкость опухоли к стандартной химиотерапии и лучевой терапии, глубокое прорастание новообразования, осложняющее его хирургическое иссечение. Большинство клиник России не могут выйти за рамки стандартной терапии, поэтому либо пациент получит отказ от лечения, либо терапия окажется крайне неэффективной.

В содействии с нейрохирургическими, радиологическими и другими клиниками, входящими в состав IMC Kliniken Koeln, мы обеспечиваем пациентов полным спектром современных методов нейрохирургии, лучевой терапии, химиотерапии, а также инновационными видами целевой и иммунотерапии. После лечения опухоли проводится реабилитация. Подробнее об особенностях лечения глиобластомы головного мозга.

По вопросам лечения мультиформной глиобластомы в Германии
обращайтесь по тел. или заполните
форму запроса.